What I learned in 2013

2013 seemed to fly by but it made sure to teach me a few lessons along the way!! Needless to say I am hoping for a better 2014!

1: Now to some people this may seem lame but it is one thing that I was most excited to learn! First to put this in perspective, I am 22 years old about to be 23 in January. I learned how to drive a stick shift!!!! My boyfriend bought me a car brought it home, handed me the keys and said figure it out! Boy was I nervous and yes I had to call him 3 times because I thought I was stuck!! After about a dozen times around the neighborhood I ventured out to get to higher speeds and I did it!! I was so proud of myself! I know it may sound lame but I never thought I would be able to do it!!!

2: You can not always rely on family. There have been many situations from 2009 that have just trailed through the years and have continued to 2013. They say blood is thicker then water but that’s not always the case. I love my family more then anything but I have learned that sometimes you have to rely on your self.

3: Make your self happy! I have always been a person that is trying to make everyone else happy and keep the peace. This year, well this last month or so I have really started focusing on myself and making my self happy. I must say it feels good. It has hurt many people’s feelings and made me look like a total bitch but all well. I am done bending over backwards for everyone else for nothing in return. May sound selfish but if you are not happy with your self and your choices you won’t be very helpful to your children or family.

4: It is alright to pamper yourself every once in a while. Sometimes it is nice to get your nails done or get all fancied up with makeup even if your just cleaning the house. It is amazing how a little bit of makeup or pampering can make a person feel. I have never really been big on makeup. Every once in a while I would wear makeup but within the last 6 or 8 months I have started building my collection and experimenting more with makeup. I will lock my self in my craft/makeup room and just play around with different looks. It is just so nice!

5: I need to get in touch with God. I am not a religious person at all. Its not that I do not believe its more like I do not know what I believe. I was not raised around church. I have a great grandma who is very in touch with God. Then my boyfriend is Catholic and so is his family. So every year we go to Christmas mass. Every time I go I feel so good! Every time I am around my grandmother talking about God and quoting the bible I get so jealous of her confidence in his existence and it makes me want to learn more. I think that will be something I will work on more this year is making God a bigger part of my life.

6: It is not the quantity of friends you have it is the quality! After I had my son my life changed in a good way. The things I wanted to do changed from partying, shopping, etc to wanting to stay home and watch Disney movies or playing with Legos. Many of my friends did not want to be a part of that so they bailed. The one friend of mine that sticks around was one that I met when I was in 8th grade. She has seen me at my best and worst. She has been there for me through everything. She is there when I need someone to talk to at 3 am and I am there for her in the same ways. She lives 2 states away from me now but I know that if I need her she will be here. It does not matter how long we go without talking the moment we get on the phone with each it as if we never stopped talking. We have never ever been in an argument and I love her more then anything! She has been there for me more then my own family members! She may be my one and only true friend but I wouldn’t have it any other way!!

7: Sometimes I need to just be a bitch! It seems like every time I try and help someone out and be there for them it backfires. I get screwed over in one way or another!

8: Patience is very important for your sanity! Sometimes life and people can push you to your limit. Flipping out and losing your mind is not cool! It makes you look like some kind of mental person! Deep breathing and walking away was a way I learned to handle it. Having patience is very important especially with the children. 

 

Well thats all I can think of. I know that once I publish this I will think of more things to add but thats ok!

I hope you all have a safe and Happy New year!!!!!

Leave a Reply

